Matcha Green Tea {Review}


Matcha Green Tea {Review}

Over the last few weeks, my family has been following a new idea of making “better” choices. Personally, I am interested in finding another energy source besides so much coffee, so I’m giving Matcha a try in the mornings, instead of my standard pot of go-go juice.

  • BODILY BENEFITS ✪ Our premium grade Matcha is rich in antioxidants, over 137x the EGCG levels that of regular steeped tea. Organic Matcha has been shown to help (1) Increase energy levels (2) Help reduce stress and improve mental alertness (3) Support metabolism and help with weight loss 4) Support immune system and helps reduce inflammation. (5) Help the body cleanse of harmful elements.
  • THIRD PARTY CERTIFICATIONS ✪ USDA Organic Certified by NOP Via OCIA International Agreement, JAS Organic Certified by OCIA, OU Kosher Certified, VEGAN.ORG Certified. In addition, Midori Spring Ceremonial Grade Organic Matcha is also GLUTEN FREE, GMO FREE, and contains no pesticides, soy, wheat of any kind
  • ENHANCED PACKAGING ✪ Our packaging is formulated to maintain optimal freshness and to provide effortless handling. The Matcha is stored in a food grade tin and sealed with a pull top and lid. Once the pull top is removed, the Matcha should be stored in the fridge with the lid on to maintain freshness and eliminating the nuisance of the bag.
  • FIRST CLASS QUALITY ✪ For the matcha drinkers who are looking for the FINEST Ceremonial Grade Matcha powder. This 1st flush (1st harvest) Matcha is rich vibrant green in color, sweet in aroma with smooth earthy flavors. Our production processes are second to none. Carefully selected and grown in shaded facilities. Once the BEST tea leaves have been selected, they are gently blown and cooled. The selected leaves are then grinded by a Mikage Stone Mill to produce delicate delicious final powder.
  • 100% QUALITY SATISFACTION GUARANTEE ✪ Sourced from the most prestigious tea gardens in Japan, our production facilities are designed to maximize the oxygen flow to the roots and to provide shaded sunlight, allowing tea leaves to naturally expand to collect more sunlight. We at Midori Spring believe in our products 100%. However, our customers are important to us. If you are not 100% satisfied with our product, please contact us immediately for a full refund or exchange. We are here for any questions or concerns.

First off, I love the bright green color of the tea! If you eat with your eyes first, then this is certainly to delight your sense of sight.

The directions are pretty basic, since I wasn’t using the special bowl or whisk that you would traditionally. You simply mix 1/2-1 tsp. of matcha powder into hot water (between 162-170°F) and mix well, until light green froth appears on top.

At this point, you can add sweetener, more hot water, flavor, etc.

The first time I tasted it, I was a little surprised at the “earthy” flavor. Not like you’re eating dirt or anything, but it was like drinking that moist air in a dense forest. Weird, but it totally fits how I think it tasted. It wasn’t off putting, just a little adjustment needed.

I personally like to brew my matcha and then make it into a latte (see my recipe) but that’s personal preference. It would be quite easy to brew it per the directions and drink it like a shot and still get all the health benefits from it.

Why matcha over coffee? Here’s what my research suggested:

  • Higher levels of antioxidants
  • Research suggests it can lower bad cholesterol levels
  • Improves mental clarity
  • Help manage diabetes
  • Contains theanine which is a mood boosting amino acid

I can’t say that it will help you manage your blood sugars or lower your cholesterol levels, I’m not a doctor. I can tell you that for me, it seemed to help me get that energy I needed as well as being able to concentrate/focus better when I needed to work while my family was still awake.

I also didn’t have to add half & half and sweetener to it to enjoy it, unlike having to use a lot of both to make my coffee every day.

I am using the Matcha Green Tea by Midori Spring. You can learn more about them on their website, as well as order some matcha from Amazon for yourself. Let me know what you think! And don’t forget to check out my matcha green tea latte recipe too.

Disclaimer: I received this product in exchange for a fair and honest review. This review is not intended to be taken as medical advice or prevent any disease or illness. Consult your medical professional before changing your medical habits.

Leave a Reply

