Matcha Green Tea Latte Recipe

Matcha Green Tea Latte Recipe

Looking for a way to try matcha for the first time? Want a way to make your own latte at home, instead of buying it from your local coffee shop? Here is my recipe for my Matcha Green Tea Latte. I hope you enjoy it!

Matcha Green Tea Latte Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1/2-1 tsp. matcha green tea powder
  • 4 oz hot water (162-170°F)
  • 8 oz milk (dairy, coconut or soy)
  • 1 tsp sweetener (I use a Splenda™ type to keep it sugar free)

Tools:

  • Frother or whisk

Directions:

  1. Measure matcha green tea powder into tall & deep mug or cup.
  2. Add sweetener to the cup.
  3. Heat then add 4 oz of hot water.
  4. Using the whisk or frother, whip the tea and water until frothy (the froth will be a light green color)
  5. Warm milk either on the stove or in the microwave.
  6. Froth the milk once hot.
  7. Pour hot milk over the tea and top with the foam.

And that’s it! Once I figured out my recipe, I’d say it took me 5 minutes or less to prepare the drink. Here are a few tips to keep in mind:

  • Don’t have a microwave? Use the water dispenser from your coffee dispenser or heat it on the stove.
  • I found that if I was heating my milk on the stove, I’d start it first, so it was ready by the time my tea was brewed.
  • I loved adding flavors, like vanilla or caramel, just like in my coffee latte. It didn’t take much syrup/flavoring though!
  • Consider adding more matcha or less milk for a stronger, natural flavor.
  • To make this an iced latte, don’t heat the milk and pour the milk & tea over ice.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Matcha Green Tea {Review} | It's a Weghorn Life!

Leave a Reply

