Hello Keurig!

Hello Keurig!

Hello Keurig!

How do I say Hello Keurig? Well, that would depend on what time of day it is. It could be grunts if it’s early in the morning, pleading for my caffeine nectar if it’s around 3pm, or with yawns as I wait for my late night work session motivating potion!

This is the Keurig 2.0 K550 Brewing System. It’s the newest model of home brewers from Keurig and it has taken a piece of “expensive” counter top real estate in our small kitchen; yeah, it’s worth it.

Say Hello to the Keurig® 2.0 K550 Brewing System — the first Keurig system that features revolutionary Keurig 2.0 Brewing Technology™ which is designed to read the lid of each K-Cup™ or K-Carafe™ pack to brew the perfect beverage every time. The K550 brewer allows you to brew a 4-cup carafe with the same ease and convenience of brewing a single-serve cup — all at the touch of a button. It’s so smart, and so simple!

Hello Keurig!

I love the touch screen feature. It displays the time and any instructions you need to follow according to the drink you are brewing. Honestly, I use mine mostly for coffee but…the hot tea and hot chocolate have been just as wonderful. I’m all about customizing and you can change the colors of the screen, of the water tank, set favorite settings for your drink preferences, etc!

Hello Keurig!

On my old Keurig machine, you had to remove the entire water tank lid to pour more water in; but on the Keurig 2.0, you just flip part of the lid up and it stays while you pour more water into the tank. Kinda like the whole water into wine deal, yeah?

Hello Keurig!

Another awesome feature is being able to brew more than 1 cup at a time. This unit also comes with a carafe that holds about 4-5 cups of coffee. Now, I did find the carafe didn’t keep the coffee hot very long, which normally isn’t a problem for us since we drink it pretty quick anyway. But, if you fill it with hot tap water and let it sit while you get everything else ready, then brew into the carafe, it holds the heat longer.

Pros:

  • Single cup or carafe brewing option
  • Brewing options on touch screen menu
  • Favorite settings
  • Quiet brewing action for those “after the kid has gone to bed” coffees
  • Easy hinged lid on the water tank for adding water
  • Plenty of coffee, teas, and other drinks to choose from

Cons:

  • Previous Keurig cups don’t work in the new machine
  • Can’t use refillable “basket” as in previous Keurigs
  • Hot water limited to 6 oz at a time
  • 10 oz largest brew size for a single cup

All in all, I’m very pleased with my Keurig 2.0. My son loves picking the “night light” color of the water tank, which I have set on a timer to go on and off at night. Plus I like being able to brew a carafe when my husband is home to enjoy the coffee or just a single cup if it’s just me. While there are a few cons in my opinion, I don’t think any of them would stop me from purchasing it again in the future.

You can go to the Keurig website for research and to make a purchase of your own!

So how do you say Hello Keurig?

Disclaimer: I received this product for free from Influenster.com, in order to facilitate my review of the new Keurig 2.0. However, all opinions are honest and my own.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sherryl Wilson
    Oct 22, 2014 @ 00:37:51

    This is just what I need! Keurig makes enjoying my coffee so easy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

