I’ve Scarred My Child with Disney

I’ve Scarred My Child with Disney

Cruella DeVil

So I’ve scarred my child with Disney. Yup.

101 Dalmatians to be exact.

So last night, I was busy in the kitchen finishing dinner and my son wanted to watch a little TV before bed. I said yes, and flipped through the cable guide and couldn’t find much that he likes or I approve of. I saw the live action 101 Dalmatians and turned it on.

A woman kidnaps puppies to kill them for their fur, but various animals then gang up against her and get their revenge in slapstick fashion.

Most of us know this movie, right? I like the cartoon version myself, but this one is still cute.

Anyway, I turn it on and tell him it’s a story about all these Dalmatian puppies as they try to escape the bad lady.

A few minutes later, he calls for me, but I can’t really understand him because it’s muffled. Confused, I stick my head out of the kitchen so I can see him on the couch, and his face is buried in a couch cushion.

I ask him what’s wrong and that I didn’t hear him; when he pulled the pillow down, his face was all red and tears were running down his cheeks.

Thinking he was hurt, I start hurrying in as I wipe my hands on my apron (oh yeah).

Me: What’s wrong honey?

Him: *mutter sniffle cough mumble*

Me: What was that? I didn’t understand.

Him: SHE’S GOING TO KILL ALL THE PUPPIES!!!!!!!!

Me: *blink…choke back my laughter..cough*

So here I am, cradling my five year old baby/big boy in my lap while he cries because Cruella DeVil is going to kill all the puppies. I knew better than to laugh, but my husband who overheard this exchange was in the hallway about to bust a gut as he tried to cover his laughing.

I quietly explained the following:

  • It’s a movie, so nothing that happens in it is real
  • The puppies get away in the end, none of them die
  • Cruella just wanted their fur for her coat (and we picked out what accessory we’d pick out for our dog Captain’s hair)
  • Cruella and her bad guy helpers get really dirty and nasty by the end of the movie when the police pick them up

By the end of the film, he wasn’t crying but laughing as the “bad guys” get what’s coming to them. Plus he loved the final shot showing all the dogs and puppies living together in the spotted mansion.

My only thought now is…what will he do when he sees someone dressed in fur with a pattern he recognizes? Best to hide the red paint…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. simplysherryl
    Sep 01, 2014 @ 09:46:02

    Too funny! You never know what is going to set kids off.

    Reply

  2. rywegh
    Sep 23, 2014 @ 11:38:08

    Oh the tears that came from this. We knew how movie ends but explaining to him it would be alright was futile. What made it harder was trying to do this without laughing.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: simpleNewz - It's a Weghorn Life! RSS Feed for 2014-10-10
  4. Trackback: simpleNewz - It's a Weghorn Life! RSS Feed for 2014-10-11
  5. Trackback: simpleNewz - It's a Weghorn Life! RSS Feed for 2014-10-12
  6. Trackback: Movie Ratings: What You Should Know About Them

Leave a Reply

