Keeping My 4 Year Old Busy (and myself sane)

As I’ve said before, I’m newer to the whole stay at home Mom thing than a lot of my friends are.

Or the Mommies that take their kids to the park or the play pit at the local mall. With their hair fixed, coffee house Venti cups in hand, looking like life is swell.

I’m lucky some days to have my hair brushed before I put it up in a pony tail or remembered to bring tissues with me for my son who always gets a runny nose when I am tissue-less.

Yeah, that was us today at the mall. Me desperately looking for tissues, a wet wipe, anything without making him leave the play area so I could get the totally disgusting *stuff* he had on/in/under his nose. (Gross, I know, but you totally know what I mean.) No coffee in hand BUT I did bring my sugar free high energy flavored water so that was something at least.

Did my son care that my hair wasn’t fixed? Nope. In fact, it meant he got to the play area sooner than if he’d had to wait for me to fix it.

Did he care that I wasn’t happily sipping my triple shot 5-Splenda sugar free vanilla with no foam extra whip latte? Nope. Again, meant another stop along the way.

Did he wear himself out so that I could come home and get some work done? Oh yeah baby.

And that, my friends, is how I kept him busy and stayed sane in the meantime. At least for today.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. simplysherryl
    Feb 26, 2014 @ 23:25:12

    That is the ticket.. keep them busy enough to get tired. LOL

    Reply

  2. Jenn
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 06:02:41

    Haha! I know exactly how you feel, my friend! I am so glad I can relate to you because I am the same way: I am in yoga/sweat pants, hair up, and no makeup because I just don’t have time for it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

