I Got That!

So I had the gastric bypass surgery back in 2007. While I still maintain it’s the best thing I could have done, I do occasionally have complications come up as an indirect result of the procedure.

One that rears it’s ugly head from time to time is severe anemia.

The symptoms according to MayoClinic.com:

  • Extreme fatigue
  • Pale skin
  • Weakness
  • Shortness of breath
  • Headache
  • Dizziness or lightheadedness
  • Cold hands and feet
  • Irritability
  • Inflammation or soreness of your tongue
  • Brittle nails
  • Fast heartbeat
  • Unusual cravings for non-nutritive substances, such as ice, dirt or starch
  • Poor appetite, especially in infants and children with iron deficiency anemia
  • An uncomfortable tingling or crawling feeling in your legs (restless legs syndrome)

I remember reading this going…check..mhmm..got that. Oh yeah. That’s me. Yep..

So on tap this week: scheduling an appointment with the oncologist/hematologist to get re-tested and start treatments. Last time, I did 10 bags of iron infusions. It’s just like getting an IV, takes about an hour total each visit. But I felt better starting within 24 hours, and completely blown away at the difference after the treatments were over. Fun times!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 22:58:57

    I hope your appointment went well. Congratulations to you on losing the weight. I know a few people who had the surgery, too, and they were very pleased with their results.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

