Scary Movies (it’s Halloween night after all)

So I admit that I’m not a huge fan of scary movies.

I don’t mind the blood and guts stuff; I have a degree in Criminal Justice and had to see autopsies and dead bodies, crime scene photos, etc.

But I don’t like the “jump out of nowhere” or where it’s deathly quiet and suddenly things start screaming and fly at the screen.

I’ll admit it. I still watch some movie scenes through my fingers, and I’m 30-something. Yeah…but it does seem to help.

So what do I do tonight, when my husband and son head to bed? I put on a scary movie. Why? Cuz it’s Halloween, why not? Honestly…I turned it within 30 minutes to watch Thursday Night Football (go Bengals!).

Such a wuss…

But anyways, I love movies in general, so while they may scare the bejebus out of me, I’ve still seen most of them. Here is a list of a few scary movies that get me every time. Oh, and no judging, okay?

  • The Exorcist (1973) – holy crap. So I didn’t see this until a few years ago, but that little girl is creepy. Terrified me, and add the music that I know now anywhere, yikes.
  • Jaws (1975) – My brothers made me watch this so many times as a kid that I still get nervous at the beach. Folks…I’ve heard the “theme song” in my head getting in the pool!
  • The Shining (1980) – “red-rum red-rum!” Oh mama! So many things about this movie creeped me out. Between the weird scenes where you don’t know what’s real to being scared for the little boy and his mom, and Daddy taking an ax to the door; run away!
  • The Sixth Sense (1999) – Great movie, I love it even though it scares me. Something about kids and dead people though, and then the ending you didn’t see coming (at least the first time through, right?!)
  • Signs (2002) – (see a pattern? M Night Shyamalan, I am a fan, really I am but scared of you too) Anyone else have to drive past many corn fields to get home after seeing this movie? I swear I STILL see alien legs sticking out from the corner of my eye. *shudder*

Like I said, it’s not the blood and guts and gore, it’s the element of surprise and even more so when things jump out (ending of Paranormal Activity anyone?) towards the camera that make me cover my face or maybe hit pause and clean house at 2 in the morning! Why do we do this to ourselves?

For me, personally, if I’ve connected with the characters and I’m “in the movie” right along with them, then I feel for them when they get scared or chased through a topiary maze outside the lodge or when the HUGE shark tries to jump in their boat. So it’s like those things are happening to me, and that’s great, and horrible all at the same time. It gets the heart pumping, your toes curling up in your shoes (as you pull them away from the dark edge of the bed or couch), and one eye wide open while the other is clenched tightly closed!

It’s a love-hate relationship. Much like my relationship with books made into movies. Another rant for another time…

Happy Halloween!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 02:22:05

    Oh, I am with you! I am not a fan of scary movies. I put a scary movie on Halloween night, too, and after 10 minutes I turned it off. I prefer suspense movies and thrillers. But there’s something about scary movies that just freak me out! lol Happy Halloween!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

