Transition to SAHM (Stay At Home Mom)

So I’ve started week 3 of being unemployed.

Some days I feel busier than when I worked 55+ hours a week.

Up until now, my wonderful husband has been a full time student and stay at home dad. He’s taken care of most of the child care, house work, and errand running during the week and kept up with his school work while I “went to work”. Some days I took this for granted, but for the most part, I tried to appreciate what he did for our family/household as an important contribution. Without it, I’d be working 10-12 hours a day AND still having things to take care of when I got home every night.

I’d say my biggest struggle right now is getting into a routine with my 4 year old. He’s had Daddy around for 4 years…and now Mommy’s the parent who’s home. Daddy is still here every day, but now he can concentrate on school during the day time as well as get some “free time” (like today he went golfing with my dad and another man from church). My parenting style is a little different than my husbands. We agree on the big points of course, but how we respond may be different. There are things he can ignore or brush off…that just send me spinning like a top! Or what doesn’t bother me sends him into orbit!

Today I focused on getting some housework done. I have found it easier if I keep up with the dishes, as they get dirty instead of letting them pile up. We live in an apartment and the kitchen is little. Plus I hate dirty bathrooms so needless to say, they are getting my attention as well. It was nice to hit the mall for lunch and shopping with my mom, grandmother, and several of my sisters. My little one also got to spend time at the sick pit (AKA play pit) at the mall. Always a hit.

So what’s next? I dunno…hopefully I’ll have my office/computer/work space in order soon so I can focus more on some business stuff. I plan on working on more school activities with the little guy. Maybe having dinner every night at home this week?

Time will tell.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. simplysherryl
    Oct 20, 2013 @ 23:12:43

    It takes time to change modes…hang in there and you will soon be as busy as before!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

